XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Capturing live aliens and acquiring Alien artifacts.

After reading through these forums I have a question regarding the capture of live Aliens.

I currently use the thermal shock bombs to incapacitate the Aliens to ensure they survive but I don't physically pick them up.

Some posts have mentioned physically moving the bodies back to the XCOM craft or the exit pad.

I have never done this before but at the end of each mission it always shows me a total of how many live aliens were recovered.

Do you actually need to equip the bodies or place them inside the craft to acquire them?

The same question applies to Alien weapons and artifacts.

Am I leaving them behind if I don't pick them up?

Thanks,

Zak

you only pick them (live aliens/artefacts) up if you're NOT going to finish off the mission. Otherwise, you'll get whatevers in the battlefield after you're completed your mission.

[edit]

Tho, in 2 parter missions, live aliens from the first part will be killed after you've done the second part.

Edited by Andy

you only pick them (live aliens/artefacts) up if you're NOT going to finish off the mission. Otherwise, you'll get whatevers in the battlefield after you're completed your mission.

[edit]

Tho, in 2 parter missions, live aliens from the first part will be killed after you've done the second part.

OK, that makes sense. Thanks!

How do I check to see which Aliens are living in my Alien containment facility?

Thanks,

Zak

It's not a very obvious way of doing it, but you can see what aliens you have by going to the 'transfer' screen. You transfer them as you would transfer your aquanauts. (and, as an unsual tidbit, you also need temporary bed space at the destination base if you transfer live aliens to another containment unit)

Capturing lobsterman commanders from alien colonies are a prime example of when you would frequently physically move the subject back to the exit to capture it

- NKF

Edited by NKF