XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Base placement

I'm a XCom1 veteran, but never played too much TFTD. Now that I'm giving it a shot on Superhuman (enjoying myself a lot in the process) I found that I have really no idea about what a good base placement could be.

I had a campaign where I got 4 landed subs in January and then nothing till the end of JUNE, when I eventually lost due to score. I was able to complete very successfully the first 3 terror missions, get Ion Armor, unlock Psi, blades, ecc., but then I found myself struggling with money, being unable to build the stuff I researched, being unable to build Radar/Interception bases, Psi Labs, Sonic Cannons, blades... I only got Terror missions, but by that time there were Tasoth, or Lobstermen, and Bio-Drones, and I simply wasn't equipped well enough. I had to quit these battles and eventually lost the campaign, without even having the chance to fight.

My first and only base was in the Mediterranean, and ALL alien activity (Terror aside) was in Antarctica (especially there, not very lucky I guess), and South Chinese Sea.

What is your base building strategy and how often do you build a radar base? Do you sacrifice research/production to get that extra chance to catch a USO?

Ps: BTW, I'm kinda new to (posting on) this forums; I already introduced myself in the Patio, but I take this occasion to say hi again to everybody and submit myself to whichever initiation rite you consider appropriate :D

The game is doable even on superhuman, so I hope you'll give it a few more tries.

I place my first base somewhere in South China Sea (so much water around that spot, yet so many countries around too) or Caribean Sea to cover both N and South America and large portions on Atlantic and even Pacific.