XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Apocalypse Upon Apocalypse

Okay, so for the last 3 weeks I have been reading these forums trying to figure out how to get Apocalypse running correctly. I have DosBox 7.2, I have Daemon Tools Lite 4.12, I have 2 different downloads of the game and 1 ISO. I have tried mounting the game in D-Tools...that worked and seemed to install fine. I can't seem to mount drives in DosBox (I've never used any of these things before trying to play this game, so yes... I'm new.) other than the virtual cdrom drive.

I have read this as a step on the forums:

-Mount the directory where you wish to install the game

* mount c c:\<whatever directory you want here> -freesize 512

(the freesize will tell the dos shell that you have 512Mb on this drive, it does not matter how much you really have as you need at least 200MB for the complete install)

But can't seem to do it when it states "whatever directory you want here". I must be confused on this part. I put the directory that my x-com files are located in. Regardless of what I type here it tells me the directory doesn't exist or can't be found or something.

I need some serious kindergarten level help here.

Thanks,

KJ

P.S. - Just don't tell me to give up or to not bother cause that wont work.

Edited by Kaellen Jace

OK, first of all, where did you install the game? I need and exact path. What most likely happened was that you used a name that either exceeds 8 characters or has spaces inside.

I'll try and give you a step by step guide of what you need to do, as I recall it. I'll also assume you don't know anything, it's easier to stomp out potential problems like that.

Once you're in dosbox, the syntax for mounting a hardrive is this:

mount <name> <path>

I am pretty sure you don't need the "-freesize 512", but I wouldn't put my hand into flames for that. :P Do as you wish.

Now to explain what each in the above line means: