Jump to content


Photo

New Tileset & Terrain


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 04 July 2007 - 08:43 PM

Heres a new tileset and Beta terrain for testing purposes. It is a revised version of the warehouse terrain with alot more detail and depth. Rust Farm is a desolate area of seldom used warehouses and gantries for use with masses of cargo and product for the industrial sector. Over the years, as the industry in the region fell into decline, the warehouses were simply left to rot, some still containing their stash of forgotten produce.

Posted Image

I need YOU to help me get it ready for release. Simply Drag'n'drop into extensions and all is go!

BTW: Test terrain so there WILL be bugs. Exploit them while you can and send me a bug report (PM or post here)

One other thing, the blue shades you see in the Screenshot belong to the Cathode lights, it isnt some horrible screwup on my part.

Edited by Sporb, 04 July 2007 - 09:31 PM.


#2 Blood Angel

Blood Angel

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 513 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 12:06 AM

Steeeeeampunk!

This is on my shopping list for after the new Beta arrives and I have a chance to start a scratch reinstall.

#3 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 12:12 PM

This sure looks good.

But its mere presence seems to drive ufo2k (0.7.1071 / win xp) bonkers:
just throwing the archive contents in their own folder in extensions leads to 'ufo2k has detected some problem and decided to crash'.
The last message you can see on startup is 'agup init': windows eventlog reveals an 'application error' on adress 0x0007d915, ufo2000.log contains

05/07/2007 20:11:31 _____________Net()
05/07/2007 20:11:34 _____________~Net()

.

Removing the map instantly restores everything back to operational.

BTW do i miss anything technical exept those fishplosions ( =b ) by not having 0.7.1079 installed?

#4 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 02:32 PM

This sure looks good.

But its mere presence seems to drive ufo2k (0.7.1071 / win xp) bonkers:
just throwing the archive contents in their own folder in extensions leads to 'ufo2k has detected some problem and decided to crash'.
The last message you can see on startup is 'agup init': windows eventlog reveals an 'application error' on adress 0x0007d915, ufo2000.log contains

05/07/2007 20:11:31 _____________Net()
05/07/2007 20:11:34 _____________~Net()

.

Removing the map instantly restores everything back to operational.


I get the same thing in 1071 and 1079 (windows XP) WTF

i tried extensions/terrain-rustfarm as well

Edited by Popek, 05 July 2007 - 02:33 PM.


#5 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 05 July 2007 - 08:47 PM

This sure looks good.

But its mere presence seems to drive ufo2k (0.7.1071 / win xp) bonkers:
just throwing the archive contents in their own folder in extensions leads to 'ufo2k has detected some problem and decided to crash'.
The last message you can see on startup is 'agup init': windows eventlog reveals an 'application error' on adress 0x0007d915, ufo2000.log contains

05/07/2007 20:11:31 _____________Net()
05/07/2007 20:11:34 _____________~Net()

.

Removing the map instantly restores everything back to operational.


I get the same thing in 1071 and 1079 (windows XP) WTF

i tried extensions/terrain-rustfarm as well

Try removing Moonbase terrain. In the past my terrains have had serious problems with moonbase. If that doesn't work, im at a loss as to why and look to the guidance of the programming gods (Pray lords, why doest thou hateth my maps?). Its an Game problem basically (As neither myself or Any of the other mappers could find a problem in the code) and the only other way it can be rectified is to re-install the whole lot and kill off moonbase early (that said, ive had them both working happily before until one fatefull evening when the game just decided it wasnt going to play ball)

The game is always a bit sketchy with new stuff

Edited by Sporb, 05 July 2007 - 08:48 PM.


#6 bamb

bamb

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 07:59 AM

Whoa! Looks excellent from the screenshot. Really high quality graphics. Did you draw all this by yourself?

I'd change the outside asphalt pattern to a less obviously repeatable one though.
Also possibly add less "busy" 1x1 buildings as there now a lot of those girders which IMO fit the larger ones better. But it's just one screenshot of course, which doesn't show much.

Overall, extremely promising.

Edited by bamb, 06 July 2007 - 07:59 AM.


#7 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 11:27 AM

Removing moonbase did not help so far. Neither did playing around with the directory name below \extensions.
Are all 6 files including the .png tileset in there supposed to be in the same directory?

Next step will be reinstalling 0.7.1071, then removing moonbase and after that adding rustfarm..

#8 Guest_Azrael_*

Guest_Azrael_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 July 2007 - 11:39 AM

I *love* the reflection on the water, what happens if the lights are destroyed? are they still being reflected or does the water actually reflect things on it?

#9 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 02:00 PM

removing Moonbase worked for me, so I took a little run around in hotseat.
No bugs to be found so far. I 2nd the bambuz notion of 'too many girders' but this is obviously a result of there only being 4 tiles, 3 of which are 1x1's.

Some very nice touches like the flickering flourescent bulbs in the large warehouse. I do find it strange the warehouses don't have any ceilings...

right now there isn't a lot to comment on from my perspective, get some more tiles in there, some more unique shapes on the buildings to spice it up a little bit. They don't have to be crazy, a few L shapes or oblong rectangles will help break up the monotony of squares.

Girder posts didn't seem to block vision either... i don't know if thats intentional or not.

#10 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 02:09 PM

yea, the reason the warehouse doesnt have any roof is thanks to the way i made the tile next to it. I forgot the original was only 4 tiles but made the next 8 tiles so the game adds 8 levels to add tiles. Some girders (the plain rusty one) can be seen through while the rusty girders cant be seen through.

I have added several nature tiles to the maps including a weedy park and a grassy small tile. Larger warehouses are in the works as well as huge gantries and such. As for the ashpalt tiling predictabl, i can change that quite nicely since there are 2 ashphalt tiles as opposed to one

#11 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 05:51 PM

i think he meant its obvious that they are tiling, like tiles, instead of how asphalt is smoothly poured. Due to the repetitive nature of the texture on the graphic.

#12 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 05:08 AM

i think he meant its obvious that they are tiling, like tiles, instead of how asphalt is smoothly poured. Due to the repetitive nature of the texture on the graphic.

not much i can do about that im afraid. Ive tried in the past to get a nice smooth look but it never looks right when it tiles unless i used loads of tiles to alternate the pattern which isnt all that viable with ufo2k atm.

Also, i have a huge problem with the game. Its decided completely at random to lose its ability to load extended terrains (IE no new maps work). Ive had this happen before for no reason and the only fix i found was to completely re-install the game. If you still experiance problems like this and removing Moonbase doesnt work, try a re-install and remember that ufo2k is very modular, it can easily be moved or deleted so it shouldnt be any hassle.

#13 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 09 July 2007 - 03:43 PM

i think he meant its obvious that they are tiling, like tiles, instead of how asphalt is smoothly poured. Due to the repetitive nature of the texture on the graphic.

not much i can do about that im afraid. Ive tried in the past to get a nice smooth look but it never looks right when it tiles unless i used loads of tiles to alternate the pattern which isnt all that viable with ufo2k atm.


a flatter texture would solve it. Unless you are actually after a tiled look.

looking forward to seeing more ^_^

#14 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 07:47 AM

Reinstalling ufo2k, removing moonbase and then adding RustFarm did not help for me; same problem remaining. Interestingly, if only the tileset .png is removed to somewhere else, ufo2k will start normally, later crashing silently to desktop when said map is chosen, no wonder at all.

Can not help testing at this point, sorry. Will retry at next beta. :)

#15 Kraplax

Kraplax

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 06:30 PM

Hello, guys! I'm quite newbie here, on forums, but i'm quite good at that =) I got 1079 and had no problems with running your map )
So, no bugs so far, but let me ask you some questions.
1. why are the RUSTY walls are so hard to destroy? well, they actually could be destroyed after some huge explosion and a pir of gunshots... that's, actually, too hard imo. Although they are really beautyfull while breaking )))
2. When any explosion is boomed the floor INSIDE a warehouse is... something _white_ with black spots. Why is it white? The rusty floor is polished with the flame? Strange for me too.
Well... Actually one more thing - archive. When you extract the archive just like that you get some files in your extensions directory. Bot you know that's wrong! Everything should be in it's own directory, so you ought to right-click the archive and choose "Extract to RustFarm\" instead of "extract here...". Not a big deal, but still...
Well, in common i was very pleased with the new tileset. The "tiled" effect of asphalt is only seen when you use the ufo2k feature of viewing the battlescape at the higher resolution than the original x-com games. Maybe you should redraw it in more smooth way...

Sorry for my english, i'm from russia, but i do my best. I'll keep playing it to find some bugs that you promised +)))

#16 Kraplax

Kraplax

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 24 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 04:20 AM

Ow... That's me again.
Well, some time later (i don't know how much time left, but i suppose it happened right after the first reboot) my ufo2k came into a crash just as described by hurz. It just crashed on the screen with a guy who holds a fish (i use 1st april Prank release)... My comrade said he had that problem. I thought at that moment i didn't have it. So i just adviced him to reinstall the game. He did it but nor result. Then i've adviced him to delete moonbase map, but the same... So, when i tried to load my game and it crashed in the same way - i remembered this topic. So i just deleted the Rust Farm map and adviced to do that to him. And it worked. I don't like this way of colving problem.
I want to say that we previously tried to play that map. I mean we both could launch the game without problems and play a match on the other new map - Down City beta. That was our first match and we played it without any troubles (luckily). But we just quitted from the ufo2k to launch it again to reduce the memory leakage, but we decided not to reboot. So, we launched the game, made a new squads, and when tried to plan a mission the game crushed. It was late in the night, so my friend said good bye and had gone after that. The next day happened what i've described above. I don't know, whether that crash was due to the memory leak, or just because the map has some bug... Please, find out - you've made too great job making this masterpiece to leave it this way =)
Just a suggestion - Dawn City beta was made with a different tileset editor, not with the Nachtwolf's browser one. Maybe this could help to solve the problem or to rebuil the map with that tool?
Thanks in advance.

#17 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 27 July 2007 - 09:36 AM

maybe I'm a horrible person...
but i laughed at "Downs City" LOL


as regards to the crashes. Maps tend to just cause a crash when you launch the ufo .exe. Once you're in the game crashes (that I have seen) have all been related to other issues, that can be repeated.

You don't mention if you were doing anything specific during the crash, any error messages either of your received, etc..

Edited by Popek, 27 July 2007 - 09:37 AM.


#18 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 09:34 AM

Removing Moon base, nor any extensions, helps. There might be a syntax error in the lua?

#19 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 01:40 PM

YAY! I finally got it working. It suddenly started doing this when the directory it was placed in was renamed to 'terrain-RustFarm'. And moonbase still exists right next to it. For the record, this still is 0.7.1071 on xp. Now on to hotseating this beauty! ROFL

#20 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 03:48 PM

It suddenly started doing this when the directory it was placed in was renamed to 'terrain-RustFarm'.

It's not just 'terrain-RustFarm' directory that is needed, but 'RustFarm' folder inside it.

It should look like this:

UFO2000 Beta\extensions\terrain-RustFarm\RustFarm

You might want to have those directories in your .rar file Sporb; just so that nobody else gets confused. Glad to know this isn't a bug.

#21 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 04:36 PM

UFO2000 Beta\extensions\terrain-RustFarm\RustFarm


Hmm, maybe this is a second approach to get it running. In my case, it now just is in
UFO2000 Beta\extensions\terrain-RustFarm\
with all the files from the archive in it, no subdirs. I did some stuff before, namely checking the lua again (thanks for putting me on this track, Kratos) and guessing that the .map files seemed to belong in the main game or game/extensions directory - what turned out to be wrong, leading to ufo2k just not detecting the map. After that i moved them to their current location and got it working. Maybe ufo2k has some sort of 'level cache'? I'll check this further.

#22 bamb

bamb

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 05:11 PM

I'm curious as there's no battlescape generation code in the LUA?

#23 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 05:22 PM

Battlescape generation code?

Edited by Kratos, 08 August 2007 - 05:47 PM.


#24 Popek

Popek

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 231 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 09:22 PM

Battlescape generation code?


the script that delegates how the map pieces are generated for the battlescape.
road connections (if needed), larger buildings, etc..

#25 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 08 August 2007 - 09:37 PM

myself, hobbes and nachtwolf have been through the code before, i couldnt find a problem and the only problem hobbes found was that i had been using mapnames that the game didn't like mixing. I have since solved that problem and can safely say: No, it is not syntax unless Linux is involved. It wouldn't run at all on anyones rig if it was syntax and nor would it run if the folder name was erroneous. This is the exact thing that happens to me on a regular basis, for apparantly no reason the map will cease to load. Even if it loaded and played perfectly fine the day/launch before and without any changes.

So far ive put it down to the game since it also has a nasty habbit of doing lots of bad stuff accidentally.

As for generation code, hobbes showed me some once and my head almost exploded ... for now ill leave it to the game to just slap anything where it wants.

That said, if anyone wants to help with the map generation code gimmie a yell.

Edited by Sporb, 08 August 2007 - 09:45 PM.


#26 hurz

hurz

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 August 2007 - 05:34 AM

A lot of tiles seem to resurrect as charred wooden fences when destroyed by explosions. This particularly often happens with the grass/shrubs-quarter. Other occurrences were in the small metal-framed buildings with neon lights (like the ones on the left border of the screenshot in first post here), and some in the large buildings, where the boxes reside. See screenshots..

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#27 bamb

bamb

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 09 August 2007 - 08:23 AM

Could you make a new release with all the right directories in place, so I can just extract the zip content to extensions/. ?

If I get it to work, I can help you with the battlescape code once there are more maps. You can look at the burbs code for model if you want to code yourself, it's modular. Though I don't know if you want to have the same approach with roads.

#28 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 09 August 2007 - 10:43 AM

Bamb, it's not hard to create directories yourself. Just create a folder called 'terrain-rustfarm', stick the files in, and throw it in 'ufo2000/extensions'. It's so easy, a caveman could do it.

#29 bamb

bamb

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 155 posts

Posted 09 August 2007 - 12:02 PM

that's the first thing I tried and it didn't work.

#30 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 09 August 2007 - 12:05 PM

Then that means even if Sporb pre-packaged it into the right directories, it still won't work on your computer.