24 replies to this topic

#1 Morwynd

Morwynd

Sergeant

• Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 13 posts

Posted 08 January 2008 - 07:22 PM

Hi all... first post here. Thanks so much for these forums, I have played this game to death in the past (right from '94.. on a 386 20Mhz with no sound. "Hidden movement" phase could take whole minutes!) but have learned so much I never knew from this place.

When I started playing this game again recently, I wanted to go for a "perfect game", one where I gain absolute dominance of the planet, total coverage by well defended bases, laugh in the face of multi-battleship assaults, pick and choose where and when I want to fight with uber elite squads, and have no worries about money (WITHOUT needing to necessarily fund myself from raiding, except Elerium of course).

That's basically my definition of "winning" X-Com. Screw Cydonia and making the game end. ;)

My biggest question is, long-term, am I doomed to eventually have all the funding nations (except Russia, which is apparently immune) withdraw, no matter what I do?

The reason I ask, is because I had a kickass game going, with EVERY nation not only on board, but also with all of them increasing funding every single month as well. I have six intercept bases ringing the globe, all with hyperwave, 3 with assault teams (Europe, USA, East Asia). I have multiple Avengers and many Interceptors all with dual Plasma, a really crack team of soldiers at my main base, and getting started on Psi. My perfect game is within reach.

Then comes April... and CHINA LEAVES NO MATTER WHAT I DO!!! GAH!!!

I have replayed this entire damn month so many times, it doesn't matter. China increased their funding in March like everyone else, but at the end of April they withdraw, no matter what.