XCOMUFO & Xenocide

SND - USELESS - Let's Work Together!

Whitewashed

As I said in the thread "Is there any use for me?" :

I'm a guitarist. If there's a sound artist that wants a melody played with real guitars I'd be glad to do it. I can also add drums if you like. Just send me the melody as some MIDI recording or whatever. I'd be glad to work together with you.

Here are two songs I did for the game:

http://www.magnic.com/viktor/Xenocide1.mp3

http://www.magnic.com/viktor/Xenocide2.mp3

If someone feels like adding some spooky effects or orchestration to them it would be great. Also feel free to comment on them if I should make them longer / shorter or change something else. I was thinking the second one would fit some sort of victory scene.

I just want to contribute to the game any way possible.

Well, I think there's certainly use for u :)

I don't think that guitar music will do at the moments where the tension in the game has to be (cfr. Night missions in the jungle (UFO: Enemy Unknown))

But, other parts like the intercepting theme, the victory or defeat theme might need a nice guitar voice on it. And with ur skills, that won't be a problem ;)

By the way, orchestration is one of the things I do :)

I agree that guitars won't be good in all situations but in some indeed.

So, do you feel like adding some stuff to these songs? Should I make the drums more complex or do any other changes to them?

yes, i shure want to try it. Maybe it would be good to separate all the voices into different waves. That would make it easier to arrange everything. Also, if u consider to do something different, u can easily modify it ;)

It might be good to use some real HQ drumsamples.

I'll see what I can do