XCOMUFO & Xenocide

New X-COM Hack

hatfarm

So, after some thought, I think I am going to restart from zero and try to rebuild x-com hack and add some new functionality. I will also try to make it more streamlined, when I wrote that program I really had no idea what I was doing as far as efficiency goes. So now, I have some experience writing some very basic 2d games and feel I have the ability to actually write something decent. I could use some help though, it was long ago requested that I add graphics to it, especially in the base editing portion, which I would love to do, but I need to get the graphics for all of the parts of the base. Does anyone have any copies of just the images for the base units that I could use in my base editor? I'm going to start cranking it out and work on the parts I can quickly, but I won't release it until it has at least as many features if not more than version 2.5. Also, is there anything in particular people would like to see added to it? I haven't really dug into ufopaedia to check out what all the new stuff that has been found does, I will be doing that though, and if anyone has anything they'd like me to start with, I'd be glad to do that. As always, if anyone is interested in coding this as well, just let me know and I'll be glad to figure out a way to work with you, I will be using vb.net. Thanks ahead of time for any and all help. Edited by hatfarm

You can get in-game pics for all the base facilities at the UFO Base Kit page at the X-COM wiki. :)

I'd really like to see updated functionality for editing crafts and craft weapons. Right now you only allow ammo quantities up to 100, but technically you can crank ammo quantities up to 32,767 as that variable is a 2-byte signed integer. I did a lot of work in this area decoding some stuff so any extra features from CRAFT.DAT would be appreciated. ;)