XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Can't Catch A Single Ufo!?!

Mad Cas

As topic, got to a certain point in the game and I can't catch any UFO, the Interceptor (any type) will just follow them about until they land or just plain dissapear...

The only way I get them is when they land, fine by me but not good for general scores as many don't land.

Is there something I'm missing or is this like a bug in the game, I don't remember it doing this before when I played it (many many moons ago)

Useful information:

-Interceptors I use: everyting and anything but the skyranger (duh) all equipped with plasma beams

-I'm on beginner level (weak I know but cut me some slack, I just started playing again)

-I'm at the point in the game where I have researched everything, It started a little before this though.

I guess now would be the logical time to go to cydonia but I'm just playing for the love of hunting down the little critters

Any Ideas or siilar Experiences?

Although Interceptors are useful for most of the game, they really suck in catching up to most any craft. I'd suggest investing in Avengers or Firestorms ASAP. Those two ships will be able to catch up and get into intercept range of any UFO. ;)

- Zombie

Although I use Interceptors as the core of my fleet throughout the game, Avengers and Firestorms are definitely needed for catching up to a UFO flying off at top speed.

Otherwise familiarise yourself with the flight pattern of UFOs, build lots of intercept outposts all around the globe and station an interceptor at each one.

See, most UFOs on common missions will have three phases to their flight. The first phase is the travel-to phase, where the UFO materializes on the globe and heads towards its mission zone at top speed. Your interceptors cannot catch them during this phase.

The second phase is their mission phase where they will scout about the area at slow speed, and may even land a few times. This is where your interceptors jump in and nab them.