XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Aimed Shot vs. Autoshot

peachadelic

I started playing again recently after a veeery long time. When I played the game before I was a little kid and always lost badly, as well being totally scared of the aliens that might lurk around the next corner. =)

Well anyways, I've read up on some of the game mechanics now and what really surprises me is that there is no real range penalty to shots. There seems to be kind of a bonus to being real close, as shots that stray off little enough to still pass the enemy square still count as hits. But the actual to hit chance taking that into consideration can't be found anywhere and does depend on the range.

If you know for example Fallout, it displays a percentage once you hold the cursor over the target, but the number it displays there is not the actual to hit chance, because armor class of the target is considered afterwards (or something like that). Since X-Com displays the % when you select the type of shot, I always assumed that range was applied afterwards but couldn't be read anywhere in the game.

Now if it says 20% to hit chance for an autoshot, that means 20% for each of the three shots, right? Which means there's roughly a 50% chance of hitting with at least one of the shots.

I guess a soldier with around 20% to hit on an autoshot would have somewhere around 40-50% on an aimed shot.

But then take into consideration that the TU cost of autoshot is about half that of an aimed shot and there's also the chance of hitting more than once. So instead of making one aimed shot, you can make two autoshots, which means 6 shots with a 20% to hit chance each, which means around 75% chance of hitting with at least one of the 6 shots, possibly even more.

So what's the real advantage of an aimed shot? I can only think of two cases right now where I would use an aimed shot: When I want to conserve ammunition and when I don't want to take the risk of a stray bullet hitting one of my own soldiers or a civilian.