XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Xerces

Beetle

Why do we have xercesc::XMLPlatformUtils::Initialize(); and Terminate(); in xnetloader.cpp ???

Don't we should move it to xenocideapp initialization ???

Sorry if my question is stupid, but i'm new to xerces. :Help:

Greetings,

Beetle

Hi,

actually, you right that it doesn't belong there. The newer loaders use XmlUtility (which in turn will soon be replaced by Guyver's XMLManager), but if you need to write a loader yourself, use XmlUtility, switching to the XMLManager is easy from there.

Take a look at StaticData/CraftType for pointers.

Also someone will have to eventually port the XNetLoader to the new stuff but I would wait with that until the XMLManager is ready.

Rincewind

Edited by rincewind

I did it.

XmlManager is in repository. You can see how it'll be used looking at xenotest module.

There's an issue with it. It doesn't see schema files. XmlManager uses ogre's DataStream to load xml file, but then, during parsing parser requires schema file which is defined. I don't know how to make it use schemas with ogre's DataStream (which abstracts access to normal files as well as zipped files), or I need to "upload" that schema before parsing.

Guyver

EDIT: ps. working with Xerces is pain in a**. Everytime I'm starting to write some XML code I'm ending being frustrated debugging really wierd exceptions xerces throws...

Edited by guyver6

I'm in doubt how to implement that schema validation, so I want those of you interested in XML to tell me what is the better way.

First option: XML schema filename is being passed as an parameter during resource creation. That way you can parse XML without validation (which is faster, and not needed when file is program-generated - IMHO only XML files created by people need validation, programs are predictable :) ).

Second option: load all XML schemas to parser at the begining. This is doable, but I don't know how it's gonna work and how to do it, but it's possible.