XCOMUFO & Xenocide

My Playstyle On Superhuman

reckoner

Yo. I just wanted to share how I play the majority of my missions on the hardest difficulty level. I am by no means an expert; I'm sure there's room for improvement, but this allows me to run successful campaigns most of the time without reloading at all - nowadays I always play ironman.

The key to my strategy to survival in the early game is using the Coelacanth Gas Cannon tank to be the scout - it's the first thing I buy on Jan 1st. Although it's far inferior to the researched tanks later on in the game, it can take a couple of hits, sometimes more, sometimes less before it's killed. It's got a lovely 100 time units which is ideal for sweeping an area safely.

I cannot imagine playing without this thing. Without it I'm almost guaranteed to lose aquanauts, and I can't stand losing aquanauts. Replacing it every time it's taken out gets expensive so I'm not careless with it. I move my tank forward only a few squares at a time, leaving enough time units for a couple of reaction shots. Sometimes if cover is available I'll just use up all the time units to make a fast sweep across the battlescape.

If my lovely tank spots an alien I never fire the tank's cannon unless I have no other choice. Instead I use aquanauts who are still using my Triton as cover, who can't even see the alien directly, but will probably have a line of fire and use them to snipe. This helps increase their stats while putting them at minimum risk. I use Gas Cannons at the early stages, upgrading to Sonic when possible, sometimes Gauss depending on my mood.

If all of my Aquanauts have failed to hit the alien, which with rookies can happen, then I'll use the tank's cannon, which will comfortably kill Gillmen, Aquatoids, Deep Ones, and possibly others in one shot, and you have up to 3 shots on that thing.