XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Could You Give Me Some Pointers Please

Ylenard

Hello.

I just got back to playing xcom after a few years(like 10, or so...:P ) break. Surprisingly enough I seem to remember quite a lot about it because it was once my favourite game, but I only remember theoretical stuff like techtree and the like. Being crazy as I am, I started playing ironman superhuman campaign, and I am experiencing some serious problems.

Its 1st aprill of the first year in my game. I suceeded in getting HWD, and succesfully created 3 radar bases in addition to my main one(only my main has HWD for now, although they're in construction in my other bases). I do have laser rifles, personal armor and medikits on all my soldiers. For tough(terror) missions I also equip them with HEPs. Even though my equippment is moderately good I suffer horrible losses. I was forced to abort 4 missions, and am losing 5-6 soldiers per fight on average. I was lucky I didn't lose my scyranger yet. I can't attack bigger then small sectoid ships because I get ripped apart by PSI. Even against floaters I lose 3-4 soldiers per crash site/landed UFO. My guys are all terrible because they're all rookies. Noone lasts more then a few missions(actually I have one guy from the beginning, but it's only because he seems to be wounded almost all the time:D)

My questions are:

-what to do about PSI? it seems that if I drop the attacked soldeirs weapons aliens switch to another one... I went through 4 soldiers this way, and most of the time I have like 6 soldiers by the end of the mission... Having 2/3 of my force unarmed doesn't seem like a good idea;)

-how to cut on loses?

and any general tips you might be willing to give me;)

thanks in advance