XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Ufo Ai

T0TM5

Now I know this has been raised before (to take one example - http://www.xcomufo.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=7697 ). However this is something I am excited about and would like to try to acomplish. I am a C++ developer and having looked over the code I would like to take a stab at implementing something.

A few questions remain however, should this be an added feature or a branch or the existing codebase? It seems a little redundant to implement such a feature in a project whose goal is online play. I suppose the reason I am posting this is I would like to chat with some of the current development team (be it via email / skype etc) so that I can actually help this project ( as I love UFO 2000 ) rather than go off and effectively do my own thing (which is basically what forking would amount to.)

All comments and feedback appreciated - Devs / Guys who are working on UFO 2000, please get in contact via PM and I will send you my details.

Now I know this has been raised before (to take one example - http://www.xcomufo.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=7697 ). However this is something I am excited about and would like to try to acomplish. I am a C++ developer and having looked over the code I would like to take a stab at implementing something.

Nice.

A few questions remain however, should this be an added feature or a branch or the existing codebase? It seems a little redundant to implement such a feature in a project whose goal is online play.

Not really. Having AI is also important even for a purely network game. It is useful to have a possibility to learn game mechanics and get some basic training before going against human opponents :)