XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Missing Some Features

ChrisEvans

I'm new to xcomutil and I'm having real difficulty getting it to work. I've had a look round and I can see anyone else complaining of the same problems so I'm starting a new thread.

I'm using X-COM Collectors Edition to play UFO Defence with XcomUtils 9.6 on Windows XP Pro SP2

The only features I'm intrested in are:

1) Automatic renaming of soldiers

2) Automatic re-equiping of soldiers

3) Automatic sorting of soldiers

4) Alternative starting base

At first, XCUSETUP.BAT didn't work at all, then I noticed that the DOS box was spitting out an error, "Could not execute command C:\GAMES\XCOM\UFO DEFENCE\SDUMP.EXE", I tried renaming the "UFO DEFENCE" folder to "UFO" and then it worked. I worry this may have broken something else, but I can't change the install path beyond C:\GAMES\XCOM and I have to rename the ufo sub-directory to make it work at all.

Anyway, the problem I have now is after XCUSETUP.BAT and selecting the features I want I run the game with RUNXCOMW.BAT. The alternative base feature works, but nothing else does. My soldiers havn't been rename, even after a mission, or saving and re-running XCUSETUP.BAT. The same is true of re-equiping and sorting, simply doesn't work. So far, only the alternative base and new ship stats are working, although soldier facings in the landing craft are unchanged. I looked at the XCOMUTIL.LOG file and it's empty. I uninstalled and re-installed everything, but it made no diffrence. Anyone have any ideas?