XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Auto-classifying Soldiers

Yeah, so I've been working at this idea for a couple years now but never had a game project to implement it in. I'm probably insane for suggesting it here but every time I get >30 soldiers in any X-Com game, this issue really ticks me off, and I want someone, anyone to fix it :P Maybe it's better suited for a bigger game (in numbers of soldiers), but I think it should be very scalable.

I'll suggest that one of the hardest (or at least most boring) parts of X-Com, later in the game, is just managing your troops. Personally I just end up largely ignoring it; it's easier to deal with mismatched armor, equipment, whatever than it is to click through menus for half an hour and make a big detailed roster on paper. And managing things across multiple bases? Ugh... Half my men get ignored. And it's such a shoddy hack that players have to put letters in a soldier's name to keep track of what they're good at, and re-equip them from scratch every time!

(You can tell I've got a bone to pick here.)

I've got some pretty well developed ideas to fix that. They might replace the rank system or might not, could be done either way. But the short version is, the player defines what stat ranges make a "standard footsoldier" or "elite sniper" or "demolitions expert", and the game not only displays that label by the soldier's name, but can use a defined equipment set to outfit each classification without user intervention.