#1 oldfan

oldfan

Captain

• Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 175 posts

Posted 25 May 2010 - 09:29 AM

A few months ago I started playing the game with the following settings/mods:
  • Funding council income only - this actually makes the game a challenge, now that cash is hard to come by
  • Ranged based accuracy - aimed shot actually means something now. Far away aliens are rarely if ever hit with snap shot which can go down to 7%
  • No save/reload - never really played with it as it is not challenging (like playing poker with no money - you can't lose)

I used to have one or two bases in the beginning though at times this proved to be a problem as far away UFOs usually went about their business without interference from me, or too many night missions. I decided to have a longer research curve and to build two additional bases in the beginnings. My bases coordinates are:
  • North Africa (middle): potential coverage for entire Europe, part of Asia, and much os Africa
  • Central Asia: large land mass and it covers Siberia and South East Asia (future interceptor will also be able to get to Australia without running out of fuel)
  • North America: Covers Greenland (up to Siberia) and North America

My game aims are:
  • Shoot down all UFOs and do all tactical missions
  • The above include night terror missions - however, running away from Cyberdiscs until I have at least personal armor
By covering, I mean potential future cover by a hyper wave decoder.

Two UFOs always appear after 2.5 hours and I track them down using the graphs (I do all of UFO tracking this way). I decided to build 3 bases and having interceptors in them in order to be able to track down and shoot as many UFOs as I can. Also, I don't build alien containment in the first months as my primary goal is to reach a 100 scientists and have power suit researched.