Jump to content


Photo

How Do I Download The Source?


13 replies to this topic

#1 Nataku

Nataku

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 06:31 PM

Hi, I was wondering how do I download the source code?

I asked if I could help with coding and was given the information, but then I got lost at the point where everything is installed but not sure how to get the source code LOL.

haven't been developing like this before.

thanks

#2 kafros

kafros

    Creative Text Department

  • Xenocide Creative-Text Departmen
  • 1,800 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 06:36 PM

http://docs.projectx..._use_the_SVN.3F


:)

#3 dteviot

dteviot

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,479 posts

Posted 30 January 2008 - 10:43 PM

Hi, I was wondering how do I download the source code?

I asked if I could help with coding and was given the information, but then I got lost at the point where everything is installed but not sure how to get the source code LOL.

haven't been developing like this before.

thanks

Oops. Sometimes I forget that not everyone is familiar with Subversion.
I've updated the Wiki, so hopefully this won't happen again.

Edited by dteviot, 30 January 2008 - 10:44 PM.

Saving the world from the scum of the universe is hard work. Especially when you have to create the scum to begin with.

#4 Nataku

Nataku

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 12:50 PM

Thanks alot guys :D

Just one more question, I keep getting this error => "Both a valid vertex shader and pixel shader (or valid effect) must be set on the device before draw operations may be performed."

I checked the net and they said that it's the graphic card but when I checked ati's site they said it supports shader 1.1. any ideas?

it's a Radeon 9250 btw.

gonna try this on my laptop too later, just wondering if i can get the desktop at work going so i can work on it when there is nothing to do LOL

#5 dteviot

dteviot

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,479 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 01:21 PM

Just one more question, I keep getting this error => "Both a valid vertex shader and pixel shader (or valid effect) must be set on the device before draw operations may be performed."

I checked the net and they said that it's the graphic card but when I checked ati's site they said it supports shader 1.1. any ideas?

it's a Radeon 9250 btw.

It's probably because the Geoscape shader is a 2.0 shader.
Saving the world from the scum of the universe is hard work. Especially when you have to create the scum to begin with.

#6 Nataku

Nataku

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 08:13 PM

It's probably because the Geoscape shader is a 2.0 shader.



oooooo LOL good info :P guess i have to play with it with my laptop/home desktop (which ever works)

#7 dteviot

dteviot

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,479 posts

Posted 31 January 2008 - 10:24 PM

It's probably because the Geoscape shader is a 2.0 shader.



oooooo LOL good info :P guess i have to play with it with my laptop/home desktop (which ever works)

Well, the other option is you could butcher the shader and make it 1.0.
Would not be very difficult (I think.) Really, just fold all the skybox textures into a single atlas and update the skybox to use the atlas. Then for geoscape render, provide two pixel shaders. For the 1.1 shader, take out the bump mapping.
In fact, easiest thing to do would be look at the changes that have been made to GeoscapeScene.cs http://svn.projectxe...eoscapeScene.cs
Up to build 1693, a BasicEffect was used to render the Geoscape, and that was Shader 1.1 compatable.
So, you could add code to GeoscapeScene to see what shader version is supported. If it's only 1.1, then use the BasicEffect code. If Shader 2.0 is available, then use the shader code.

Edited by dteviot, 31 January 2008 - 10:24 PM.

Saving the world from the scum of the universe is hard work. Especially when you have to create the scum to begin with.

#8 Mad

Mad

    Creative Text Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,958 posts

Posted 01 February 2008 - 12:41 AM

Well, the other option is you could butcher the shader and make it 1.0.
Would not be very difficult (I think.) Really, just fold all the skybox textures into a single atlas and update the skybox to use the atlas. Then for geoscape render, provide two pixel shaders. For the 1.1 shader, take out the bump mapping.
In fact, easiest thing to do would be look at the changes that have been made to GeoscapeScene.cs http://svn.projectxe...eoscapeScene.cs
Up to build 1693, a BasicEffect was used to render the Geoscape, and that was Shader 1.1 compatable.
So, you could add code to GeoscapeScene to see what shader version is supported. If it's only 1.1, then use the BasicEffect code. If Shader 2.0 is available, then use the shader code.

Which would be a nice option to have in Xenocide anyway... :rolleyes:
Keep smiling while dying

Of course I have gone mad with power! It would be completely ridiculous to go mad without power!
And no, this is not a quote from the Simpson's movie, I want it on paper, that I actually wrote that quite some time before the movie came out.

Posted Image

#9 dteviot

dteviot

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,479 posts

Posted 02 February 2008 - 11:44 PM

Well, the other option is you could butcher the shader and make it 1.0.
Would not be very difficult (I think.) Really, just fold all the skybox textures into a single atlas and update the skybox to use the atlas. Then for geoscape render, provide two pixel shaders. For the 1.1 shader, take out the bump mapping.
In fact, easiest thing to do would be look at the changes that have been made to GeoscapeScene.cs http://svn.projectxe...eoscapeScene.cs
Up to build 1693, a BasicEffect was used to render the Geoscape, and that was Shader 1.1 compatable.
So, you could add code to GeoscapeScene to see what shader version is supported. If it's only 1.1, then use the BasicEffect code. If Shader 2.0 is available, then use the shader code.

Which would be a nice option to have in Xenocide anyway... :rolleyes:

I'll make you a deal. If someone can put together a texture atlas for the skybox, I can change the skybox shader to a v1.1 shader. And I'll add a v1.1 Geoscape shader as well. Notes for creating the skybox texture atlas. Basically, take the 6 images that are used for the skybox (back.jpg, bottom.jpg, front.jpg, left.jpg, right.jpg top.jpg at http://svn.projectxe...xtures/Geoscape, reduce them vertically by half, and horizontally to a third, and then put them together in a single 1024 x 1024 image as:
+--------+--------+-------+
|		|		|	   |
|  Left  |  Back  | Right |
|		|		|	   |
+--------+--------+-------+
|		|		|	   |
| bottom |  front |  top  |
|		|		|	   |
+--------+--------+-------+

Edited by dteviot, 02 February 2008 - 11:45 PM.

Saving the world from the scum of the universe is hard work. Especially when you have to create the scum to begin with.

#10 Darkhomb

Darkhomb

    Captain

  • Xenocide Artwork Department
  • 628 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 12:39 AM

Will do this tomorrow.

#11 Mad

Mad

    Creative Text Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,958 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 08:13 AM

I'll make you a deal. If someone can put together a texture atlas for the skybox, I can change the skybox shader to a v1.1 shader. And I'll add a v1.1 Geoscape shader as well. Notes for creating the skybox texture atlas. Basically, take the 6 images that are used for the skybox (back.jpg, bottom.jpg, front.jpg, left.jpg, right.jpg top.jpg at http://svn.projectxe...xtures/Geoscape, reduce them vertically by half, and horizontally to a third, and then put them together in a single 1024 x 1024 image as:

That is much appreciated! :) Thanks :)
Darkhomb, let me know if I can somehow help you with this - same goes for you david, although I guess I won't be much of a help for you.
Keep smiling while dying

Of course I have gone mad with power! It would be completely ridiculous to go mad without power!
And no, this is not a quote from the Simpson's movie, I want it on paper, that I actually wrote that quite some time before the movie came out.

Posted Image

#12 kafros

kafros

    Creative Text Department

  • Xenocide Creative-Text Departmen
  • 1,800 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 11:37 AM

files removed (not needed anymore), post edited

Edited by kafros, 24 June 2008 - 04:49 AM.


#13 Darkhomb

Darkhomb

    Captain

  • Xenocide Artwork Department
  • 628 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 12:23 PM

Good job. They don't have to be perfect we can always change it later, however if there are just 3 pixels left on the right, you would simply stretch each image by 1 more pixel.

#14 dteviot

dteviot

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 1,479 posts

Posted 03 February 2008 - 12:35 PM

* tileset.zip: Contains the psd with the resized skybox images, at their according positions (as dteviot asked in his code tags)

Of course, there was a 3-4 pixel gap on the right, unacceptable.

So:
* full jpeg tileset.zip: Contains a complete 1024x1024 image. 12/12 Maximum quality, optimized baseline
* full png tileset.zip: A png version of the above image, just in case you need it...

I hope they are good enough

Thanks kafros. Please note, it may be a couple of days before I get the shaders done.
Saving the world from the scum of the universe is hard work. Especially when you have to create the scum to begin with.



Reply to this topic