XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Setting Up Your Computer For Development

Guus

introduction

I'm writing this for all those people that are fairly new to programming in a group, like me. I will cover basic installation of a CVS-client (to get the source-code) and I will add a section covering the project default IDE and compiler (to edit the source-code) later.

-Note-

I'm an utter newbie when it comes to CVS and C-programming. If there's anything wrong with this document, it's all my fault :) Please make suggestions for improvement.

-Note (part deux)-

I'm using Microsoft Windows 2000, and the description below works for me. I'm not making any guarantees though. If you run into trouble, reply to this thread and maybe we can figure out what's going wrong.

CVS

You use CVS ("Concurrent Version System" or something close to that name) to download the sources from the central server (hosted at SourceForge.net). After you edit them, you can upload those sources again, so everyone else can use the updated sources. This sounds an awful lot like ordinary FTP, but it isn't. CVS keeps track of things that have changed in the file. This means that you never lose stuff (not even old stuff). So, when two people edit the same file, it's quite easy to track back who edited what. CVS is supposed to have a bunch of other handy features, but I haven't looked in to them yet (I told you, I'm writing this as I go).

How do you connect to the CVS-server?

There are several windows-clients for CVS. I'm using one called TortoiseCVS. You can download it at http://www.tortoisecvs.org/. I used this version:

"Stable (for deployment) - TortoiseCVS1-2-2.exe - 2.6 Mb - 19th December 2002."

After you downloaded and installed it, you'll notice a new program folder in your start-menu. The curious thing is that it doesn't hold any programs, just something to change your preferences. Leave them at what they are for now.