XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Still 1999?

I was just curious, and this has probably been covered already...but are we updating the start of the alien invasion from Dec 1998(1999? *shrug*)? If so, then we could add some different things to weapon info and whatnot from events that have passed since that time(9/11, the war in Iraq, etc).

I think starting the alien invasion slightly into our current future perhaps 2006 or something would be a nice touch, or maybe we should just eliminate the timeline altogether. I just finished watching T2 again for the first time since I was like 12 and I kinda laughed at the August 29, 1997 nuking(not because of the mass destruction, mind you.) I just found that the dating kinda seemed strange. And making a game based on 1999(I graduated High School that year...and I never noticed any aliens...) would be kinda lame. Anyways, just some thoughts while I'm wasting time here at work. :happybanana:

Hey -

The general concensus at the moment, is to have all the dates in the game adjust to the individual players computer time, plus 10 years. Or something to that effect.

In terms of updating weapons, we have two ways of doing this. The first is with the Creative Texts, and the second is with v1.0+ improvements. To explain better, within the technology and item entries, if the players read them, the weapons will seem very advanced. However, in terms of game-play and balance, they will be the same as X-Com for the most part. THis could easily be explained away with "Yes, we are advanced, but even are usper futuristic weapons and advancements still bounce off the aliens until we start using their own tech against them."

If you are talking about things like Night Vision and Thermal Imaging, scopes to increase accuracy, etc... these are all being looked at for post v1.0 releases.

Gold

Right, I was just thinking of a more down-to-earth description when talking about something like the basic combat rifle.