XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Help! I == N00b!

I've been playing UFO:Enemy Unknown for about 2 weeks now and I think there's something really wrong, because I suck. I'm generally not bad in tactics (battlescape) since I save and reload a lot. I have an easy time starting out, I get 14 soldiers, 25 Sci, alien containment, living space, storage and large radar right away, (I try to follow every little piece of advice I find around here). I attack every ship I detect, and my research goes like: Motion Sensor, Medkit (may be interrupted), Plasma (Heavy or rifle) + clip, alien alloys + power source (for power suits), and any Aliens I capture I interrogate. I try to get 50-75 Sci ASAP, and I don't use HWPs because I'm not really good with those (even as scouts they die). I Capture quite a lot of aliens, but I try to finish a plasma weapon before I interrogate any. For battlescape I generally stick with this strategy (it's a skyranger and "=" is a ramp):

/AAAABAA===

\AAAAABA===

A == {rifle + clip + grenade}

B= {pistol + clip + motion scanner (in left hand) + electroflare (at night) + smoke (for terror) + stun rod (backpack) + medkit}