XCOMUFO & Xenocide

I'd Like To Help.. What Isn't Being Done Already?

Hello all! Just utterly wiped out the martian base on superhuman with no casualties, and after almost going through withdrawals, I decided to give google a go again on a multiplayer version of xcom.

I found your beautiful game, and I'm very excited.

I wondered if I could help with the code/planning a bit. I'm a web developer with some experience in both C++ and Lua (what is it you're coding this in?), and I also have a good amount of game design experience (in the sense of rules development). I've written several tabletop games, and I really enjoy it.

So, what needs to be done? I know the development team has specifics earmarked, and I'd be interested in seeing if there's anything I can take on.

Thanks!

So, what needs to be done?  I know the development team has specifics earmarked, and I'd be interested in seeing if there's anything I can take on.

Sporb already pointed you to our bugtracker. So I'll try to be more specific. I don't know if anybody besides me is actively working on the code right now. I'm trying to work on:

1. Improving modding capabilities using lua scripting with recently implemented #398, and probably moving to modding units #387

2. Fixing bugs by primarily using statistics collected at http://ufo2000.xcomufo.com/results.php (the game contains a built-in bugreporting system which can send crash reports to the server)

3. Trying to ensure portability of the game to the following platforms: amd64, macos, nokia770

So as you see, actually I'm not working on adding any really user visible features right now. As for the tasks, there are really lots of other things that can improve the game. Some of the bigger tasks are:

1. Improve usability by implementing better looking user friendly GUI, especially in the mission planner screen

2. Implement some basic strategy part with UFO interception and base management for future single player mode

3. ...