XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Architecture

Fuegan

One thing that always struck me from the Enemy Unknown was how schematic your base was when it came to a base defence mission. As an architect myself, it always made me wonder what the base inhabitants actually did in their downtime, or how the base would work on a day-to-day basis. Sure, there were always going to be some limitations with the engine and especially the graphics.

Anyway, what about base facility modules coming with various other sections? That is, in Enemy Unknown the actual facility was upstairs and downstairs there were a series of much smaller rooms which kind of looked like they might have some function but ultimately served as filler. Or places for your soldiers to stand, depending on your viewpoint ;)

What springs to mind is how the X-Com bases were basically a functionality nightmare. Not only that, but they weren't serviced in any way. That is, there were no real 'offices', no real command nodes (with world maps and so forth), no mess halls, no kitchens, no storage of anything other than military equipment, no obvious way of getting things in and out (well, there was the Access Lift but you couldn't get to the upper level without a flying suit...). There certainly weren't any toilets or other sanitary areas.