Jump to content


Photo

Cleaning Up The 'modern Real' Set


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 04:40 AM

Several errors mean this set is rather unusable on the battlescape armoury screen. I'm looking into fixing this...

May take a while. :wink1:
Posted Image

#2 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 04:59 AM

Inventory images are all cleaned up now. Just need to do the battlescape images. :)

Edited by Exo2000, 14 February 2006 - 04:59 AM.

Posted Image

#3 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 06:56 AM

Alright, they're all scrubbed except the Claymore Inventory and SAW Ammo Inventory pics. Can't seem to get those to work OK, for some reason. Ah well, they work in the battlescape!

Attached File  modernrealnewgraphics.zip   159.69K   249 downloads

Overwrite the images under the modernreal folder for weapons-modernreal under extensions. You HAVE to extract it into weapons-modernreal, else the new GFX won't work! :wink1:
Posted Image

#4 Hobbes

Hobbes

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 11:07 AM

Nice work Exo.

I am not sure if the Claymore and the SAW ammo needed to be redone. In any case the inventory items look much better now!

#5 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 10:25 PM

Thanks. It was one of my favourite sets, and all the GFX issues were bugging me.

I suppose you could try changing back the masks for the Claymore and SAW ammo and see if that works.
Posted Image

#6 Hobbes

Hobbes

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 10:49 PM

Just checked but it seems I was wrong. :(

#7 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 10:51 PM

Maybe someone else with a better program that isn't Paint can clear it up. :D
Posted Image

#8 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 14 February 2006 - 11:48 PM

i use paint. ive so far made all my guns in paint. Units too .... and tilesets. Coming to think of it, i use paint for everything. Although now i know how to use PS7 i shall be using it in my work lots more

#9 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 03:58 AM

Considering it's the png format, PS should be able to do proper transparencies, which will help immensely, I suspect.
Posted Image

#10 playstationman

playstationman

    Sergeant

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 14 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 04:23 AM

You're familiar with The GIMP, right?

#11 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 15 February 2006 - 05:29 AM

In that it takes a good freakin' half hour to boot up, yes.

I only use it for important things where Paint wouldn't be powerful enough to suffice.
Posted Image

#12 Hobbes

Hobbes

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 16 February 2006 - 08:47 PM

Exo, Kratos redid the claymore and it worked without a problem. You must have done something different with the claymore/saw clip and the other items.

#13 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 16 February 2006 - 09:07 PM

i say we rip the images to PNG's and be done with it. That way any future changes will not be so hard to add to it.

Edited by Sporb, 16 February 2006 - 09:13 PM.


#14 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 17 February 2006 - 02:43 AM

Sporb; They ARE pngs, you twit.

Hobbes; odd. I handled them exactly the same way as I handled the others.
Posted Image

#15 Hobbes

Hobbes

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 17 February 2006 - 07:09 AM

Well, have a look :)

I'll ask Kratos to do the other ones if you can't figure it out.

Attached Images

  • claymore.PNG


#16 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 17 February 2006 - 07:41 AM

Transparency for everything except the Claymore and SAW clip don't work for me. They worked fine for everything else. I tested inventory and battlescape. :blink:
Posted Image

#17 Sporb

Sporb

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 739 posts

Posted 17 February 2006 - 03:58 PM

i thought they were .PCK? If thats the case you broke the PNG's somhow. Transparancy is so easy it'd be hard not to get it right the first time.

Edited by Sporb, 17 February 2006 - 03:59 PM.


#18 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 18 February 2006 - 12:21 AM

i thought they were .PCK? If thats the case you broke the PNG's somhow. Transparancy is so easy it'd be hard not to get it right the first time.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


They've always been png files. I never changed them out of any format. They were PNGs, and are PNGs.

If they were PCK I'd never have STARTED editing them. :blink:
Posted Image

#19 Greyfox386

Greyfox386

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 09:18 AM

kinda interested to see this but it doesnt work for me cause theres no lua file

#20 Hobbes

Hobbes

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 10:41 AM

Latest version here.

Attached Files



#21 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 11:43 AM

kinda interested to see this but it doesnt work for me cause theres no lua file

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It's supposed to overwrite a set that (should) come with UFO2000 by default. Get Hobbes' link thar. :)
Posted Image

#22 Kratos

Kratos

    UFO2000 Staff

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,113 posts

Posted 20 February 2006 - 01:15 PM

Since I now have free time; I will be able to help provide this set with proper transparency, all-in one held sprite images, and png compression. :) I should be done by the day's end.