XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Stun Raiding

--Edit: I just tried one raid, and you DO get experience from grapple raids! It looks like a really cheap way to get everyone trained, with NO RISK AT ALL. The extra equipment is a bonus. You also get mucho points, so you should never have an excuse for a negative score month. :)--

It's worth posting it in the X-COM3:Strategy thread. Getting experience and equipment, without putting your troops in danger is a BIG strategy/cheat.

Edited by Robo Dojo 58

For those that do not know, this is stun raiding (although I'm no expert in this tactical mission, I'll try to explain it as best as I can):

-Basically, you equip yourself with stun grapples only and go raid an organisation that has neutral or better relations with you. The catch is that since they are not hostile towards you, they won't open fire, and since you are not killing anybody to complete the mission, you are not getting yourself in trouble with the organisation. The thing to remember is that you need to stun every defender in the building to complete the raid, and ppl can usualy wake up from a stun grapple's effect in short time (so you need to set watcher atop bodies).

Pros:

-You will get free equipment, thus free cash.

-You can get certain equipment that is normally not available (psiclones and mind shields are examples).

-You will get tactical mission score, thus doing repeated stun raids increases your week score greatly.

-You can get items that are not available on shops either because it's too early for them to appear or the shops are out of them (example: i have 9 marsec heavy launchers with 24 HE rockets in first week).

-You get to raid ANY kind of building/organisation without upsetting them. If you are bored of those endless Cult of Sirius runs and want to see new scenery, stun raids are your solution.

-If you know which organisation to raid, you won't have to worry about running out of ammo for other tactical missions.

Cons: