XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Dosbox Illegal Command/not Responding Issues

Hello all,

I wanted to start a new thread with this topic. I've seena few other people ask similar questions and figured it would be a good reference point if we could solve the issue. (MODs can delete my other post if it violates the forum rules...sorry)

I am new to the world of DosBox as a few days ago. I stumbled across it when i found the old Xcom games. I started by loading and installing Enemyt Unknown (my personal favorite) It immediately worked great with no issues. I exited the program, started it again, etc..., everything was working fine. The only issue i was having was the time in the geoscape going a little too fast. In order to correc that issue, I downloaded a patch that was said to fix the problem (located here: http://FastFreeFileHosting.com/file/858...8-zip.html ). Ever since then, I have been unable to launch the game without completely reinstalling from the beginning. When i go to start the game one of two things happen:

1. If loaded through Dosbox, i recieve the following messages:

Illegal command: D:ufoexe\black.

Illegal command: D:sound\sndstart.

Illegal command: D:intro.

Illegal command: D:ufoexe\black.

Illegal command: D:ufoexe\geoscape.

Illegal command: D:sound\sndend.

C:>

2. If loaded through Dosshell (a frontend), dosbox will open, attempt to start the game, and then will "freeze" or go into a state of "Not Responding"

These errors happen 100% of the time, without fail.

Anyone had a similar problem with this game or other games? Know what going on? How to fix it?

I am curious if something in my windows registry could cause these errors to come up? The only reason i mention it is because the previously mentioned patch i tried to install had me copy an exe file and an eut(???) file which looked as if it were a registry file. So, if that's the case, could a reg file in windows do something to prevent me opening up the game in dosbox?