XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Proximity Bombs

Dogar

Hello all, I'm new to X-com I was wondering if anyone here would be able to give me any info on how to use proximity bombs effectively? I absolutely love the concept of them, but I'm not too sure on how as to what situations they are best applied to. I've tried putting them in front of UFO's and waiting for an alien baddie to blow them up, but this rarely happens, I've tried using them in other situations as well but usually to no effect. I really want to make use of these cool little things. :)

Well, you must first understand the proximity mine in every inch and detail. Well, you just have to understand it well.

First of all, the proximity mine only detects movement within a 9 tile area. In other words, the tile its on and all the 8 surrounding tiles. So any units walking into these tiles will set it off.

Note that units flying or dropping into these tiles or walking away from the trigger tiles will not set it off. And no, the proximity mine does not detect movement above or below it.

If you're standing on top of an armed proximity mine, you can safely pick it up and reposition it.

The proximity grenade has one very nasty flaw that you must be aware of. It does not give any experience to the user. Instead, it gives experience to the person stepping on the mine - if they survive. Therefore, you'll want to use mines sparingly and only in a crippling capacity.

Now, for actually using them.

For mining UFO doors, always place it 1 tile away from the door or else the alien will walk up to the door and set the mine off while the door is still closed. This ends up wasting your mine. Also be very patient when mining a door, as not all the aliens will move out straight away.