XCOMUFO & Xenocide

Laser Squad

Sorrow

Years ago, when I had only a Commodore C-64, I played a game called Laser Squad. It was one of my favourite games.

I liked the tactical gameplay and the fact that the game was one of the scariest games that I played then.

It didn't have any music but generated tension by sudden appearances of enemies (and their hidden movement), that often ended with squad member's death due to deadly weapons, also, it made an excellent use of sounds - there are a lot of sharp sounds that raise the adrenaline level. Graphics are very simple, even for Commodore C-64, but do a good job in representing things. The special effects are simple, but very dramatic.

A few days ago I started playing it again. First I tried the PC version. I found the graphics pretty pleasant, but the music was annoying and special effects were less dramatic than in C-64 version. Especially the explosions and terrain damage was pretty unimpressive. Also, I didn't like the user interface.

I decided to try the C-64 version. I downloaded a Java adaptation of it, but the sound didn't work, so I downloaded a C-64 emulator and a Laser Squad rom (which is public domain now and can be downloaded here).

I started to play it and discovered that it still has that atmosphere and I love the gameplay and special effects, despite that the interface is heavy to use and graphics are in low resolution and have not enough colors.

Are there any other Laser Squad fans?

• 3 weeks later...
Guest ergath

I played it on the Amiga 500, and have fond memories of the gameplay. I had previously played a similar game called Breach, which wasn't as good. I think I only had a demo of Laser Squad, as there were only a couple of missions, and I don't think I ever won a single mission - the broccoli -headed monsters/bulletproof robots always wiped out my squad in a terrrifying and relentless manner!