Jump to content


Photo

New Project - Need Input


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 hatfarm

hatfarm

    Sound Department

  • Xenocide Sound Department
  • 133 posts

Posted 03 June 2005 - 05:01 PM

So, I'm thinking about making something similar to my editor but making it for editing the actual .exe. I'm wondering if people would want this and what type of features people would want. I need to hear input, so let me know.

#2 stewart

stewart

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 10,527 posts

Posted 03 June 2005 - 05:25 PM

What kind of featues do you think it could offer?
Posted Image
I'm starting to like the heavy cannon more and more.

#3 hatfarm

hatfarm

    Sound Department

  • Xenocide Sound Department
  • 133 posts

Posted 03 June 2005 - 06:01 PM

Well, for starters you could edit your starting base. Edit Stats for Aliens, tanks and Civilians. Edit the facility properties. Maybe edit the weapons stats although that's a completely different file. Well, we'll see. Thanks.

Lemme know what you'd be interested in.

#4 Exo2000

Exo2000

    Colonel

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,009 posts

Posted 05 June 2005 - 04:12 AM

Ideally, if you want an all around editor;

Soldiers
Equipment
Armour
Weapons
Tanks
Aliens
Terror Units (Alien Tanks)
Civilians
Starting Base Layout
Facilities
Storage
Money

If it's possible, even cashflow. Though the Money feature would make it redundant.
Posted Image

#5 hatfarm

hatfarm

    Sound Department

  • Xenocide Sound Department
  • 133 posts

Posted 05 June 2005 - 10:44 AM

Ideally, if you want an all around editor;

Soldiers
Equipment
Armour
Weapons
Tanks
Aliens
Terror Units (Alien Tanks)
Civilians
Starting Base Layout
Facilities
Storage
Money

If it's possible, even cashflow. Though the Money feature would make it redundant.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Most of that is in there, though I only have the ability to edit soldier names. Equipment, Armour, Weapons and Money are not in there as I know the first three are in a different file. I don't know how money is stored but I'll check it out. Thanks for the suggestions. If you're interested, I need beta testers.

#6 stewart

stewart

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 10,527 posts

Posted 05 June 2005 - 02:11 PM

All these things are handled, I believe by other editors; what about:
- editing the research tree
- changing what base facilities do
- making purchaseable equipment require rearch or at least manufacture
- adding completely new weapons or facilites or aliens for that matter
- porting some of the Xcom2 features into Xcom 1, like doublemap base assaults.
Posted Image
I'm starting to like the heavy cannon more and more.

#7 Greylocke

Greylocke

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 14 June 2005 - 03:25 AM

All these things are handled, I believe by other editors; what about:
- editing the research tree
- changing what base facilities do
- making purchaseable equipment require rearch or at least manufacture
- adding completely new weapons or facilites or aliens for that matter
- porting some of the Xcom2 features into Xcom 1, like doublemap base assaults.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

A lot of those sound fantastic! Especially being able to add to the research tree (It needs to be larger dammit!) and being able to manufacture rifles and rifle mags would be good too. Yes the game NEEDS more weapons! All i find is ways to modify existing weapons into other weapons... i dont like this, so have more weapons would be sweet! And not necessarily more powerful weapons... just different.

#8 Blehm 98

Blehm 98

    Colonel

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts

Posted 14 June 2005 - 03:57 AM

Hmm, if you can, add in the Gatling laser that is somewhere in the code, NKF replaced the laser rifle with it but he couldn't make a new weapon, sadly :(
Top Secret Xenocide Status report

BF2 Hackers =5SF= have busted
]sD[ Engageo <-- couldn't get him banned though, no screenshot of him ingame
]sD[Nomisser
an AK guy
The anti-logarithm of the logarithm of X plus the logarithm of Y equals X times Y, or 10^(logX + logY) = XY
Posted Image
I hate spider solitaire...

#9 stewart

stewart

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 10,527 posts

Posted 14 June 2005 - 11:37 AM

Gatling Laser? Why not just Continuuos Beem Laser?
Posted Image
I'm starting to like the heavy cannon more and more.

#10 Blehm 98

Blehm 98

    Colonel

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts

Posted 14 June 2005 - 08:21 PM

It was a troop held weapon, continious stream would be less accurate, and it would take tons of power to make a continuous beam
Top Secret Xenocide Status report

BF2 Hackers =5SF= have busted
]sD[ Engageo <-- couldn't get him banned though, no screenshot of him ingame
]sD[Nomisser
an AK guy
The anti-logarithm of the logarithm of X plus the logarithm of Y equals X times Y, or 10^(logX + logY) = XY
Posted Image
I hate spider solitaire...

#11 NKF

NKF

    Commander

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,795 posts

Posted 14 June 2005 - 11:46 PM

The gatling laser (my name for it because the battlescape 'in soldier's hand' image reuses the autocannon although its inventory image is the laser rifle). Deals 8 points less damage than the laser pistol and is less accurate and much slower then the rifle, however its autoshot is moderately accurate and only costs 15%! That's 6 Autoshots a turn. Although it's weaker than the laser pistol, I would have really preferred this weapon over the heavy laser. Fantastic weapon.

Has two versions, an ultra heavy version (needs 40 strength) and a ridiculously light version (needs 1 strength).

I found this in three of the six unused item slots in UFO. It only needs a minor tweak to enable the firing mode selection menu. The only other tweak that needs to be done is to change the bullet image - which is somewhere in tactical.exe. As it is, it'll look as though it's firing HWP cannon rounds.

You can actually add this item into the game. I've added it onto the Skyranger and it appeared in combat. However, it will never appear in the transfer screens nor will it have a proper item label.

So the trick here would be to add this item into the transfer screens so you could make use of them. But not just for the laser, but for the other unused items as well. It would allow you to add up to 6 weapon mods and not touch everything else in the game. In TFTD these are used for the gauss clips and drills.

Ooh, some way to re-enable the melee attack menu so we don't have to resort to stacking the stun-rod onto weapons to get the melee attacks. That would be grand.

- NKF
Lord High Generalissimo Ruler Supreme of Norm's Anti Pedant Society (NAPS).

Number of members: 1

#12 Blehm 98

Blehm 98

    Colonel

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts

Posted 15 June 2005 - 12:39 AM

NKF, where are the files you edit for this?
Top Secret Xenocide Status report

BF2 Hackers =5SF= have busted
]sD[ Engageo <-- couldn't get him banned though, no screenshot of him ingame
]sD[Nomisser
an AK guy
The anti-logarithm of the logarithm of X plus the logarithm of Y equals X times Y, or 10^(logX + logY) = XY
Posted Image
I hate spider solitaire...

#13 NKF

NKF

    Commander

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,795 posts

Posted 15 June 2005 - 12:59 AM

All of what I mentioned? Well.. let's see.

The weapon data is in obdata.dat (geodata folder)

The code handling the transfer menus would be somewhere (craft, base, purchase, etc) in geoscape.exe (or the geoscape.exe portion of the .exe for the Collectors Edition). Same as the 80 item limit, I'd imagine.

The inventory of the ships are in craft.dat and the inventory for bases are in base.dat (savegame folder). A couple of existing store editors name these unused slots as "Engineer" or "Medic" or as other things for some very odd reason.

The bit of code that controls how the objects in obdata.dat behave (like flares lighting up, stun rods using the melee attack, probes probing, etc) would definitely be somewhere in tactical.exe (or the tactical portion of the executable for the CE). I'll bet the HWP/Terror Unit turret information is in here as well as the unique abilities for the various actors (Cyberdiscs expoding, AI using impregnation attacks for chryssalids, etc)

It's just a matter of finding where the information tables that store all this information reside. If you can mask off parts of the executable you know will not contain any information and search for known values (or familiar series of numbers near each other), you're bound to find something.

- NKF

Edited by NKF, 15 June 2005 - 01:02 AM.

Lord High Generalissimo Ruler Supreme of Norm's Anti Pedant Society (NAPS).

Number of members: 1

#14 Blehm 98

Blehm 98

    Colonel

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts

Posted 15 June 2005 - 05:30 PM

Yeah, how do i edit or change it? How do i access Geoscape and Tactical.exe? I also noticed a lot of empty and undefined slots :)
Top Secret Xenocide Status report

BF2 Hackers =5SF= have busted
]sD[ Engageo <-- couldn't get him banned though, no screenshot of him ingame
]sD[Nomisser
an AK guy
The anti-logarithm of the logarithm of X plus the logarithm of Y equals X times Y, or 10^(logX + logY) = XY
Posted Image
I hate spider solitaire...

#15 NKF

NKF

    Commander

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,795 posts

Posted 16 June 2005 - 12:05 AM

It's almost like a "Chicken-Egg, which came first?" problem. Almost, but not quite.

Hatfarm's new project is to address this issue, but in order to build the editor, we need information on how to edit the executable.

At the moment, one solution would be to use a hex editor (I use MS-Edit in binary mode - but there's bound to be something better than this).

- NKF
Lord High Generalissimo Ruler Supreme of Norm's Anti Pedant Society (NAPS).

Number of members: 1

#16 Blehm 98

Blehm 98

    Colonel

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,626 posts

Posted 16 June 2005 - 12:46 AM

sorry, but is MSedit a file that comes standard with XP?
Top Secret Xenocide Status report

BF2 Hackers =5SF= have busted
]sD[ Engageo <-- couldn't get him banned though, no screenshot of him ingame
]sD[Nomisser
an AK guy
The anti-logarithm of the logarithm of X plus the logarithm of Y equals X times Y, or 10^(logX + logY) = XY
Posted Image
I hate spider solitaire...

#17 j'ordos

j'ordos

    Alien Concept Task Force

  • Xenocide Artwork Department
  • 5,059 posts

Posted 16 June 2005 - 03:27 AM

I myself use xvi32 (http://www.chmaas.ha...xvi32/xvi32.htm), it's free, small and does everything I need, but I don't have much knowledge about other hex editors, so I can't compare really...
"You can't trust your eyes if your imagination's out of focus" - Mark Twain
"The mind is like an umbrella, it functions best when open" - Walter Gropius
Posted Image
SNEKK BLOG U-LAR MEKHH! GAHGHH! RK!
GRRGH RGGHH SNORRTT GHACKHGG

Now presented in DoubleVision™ (where drunk)

#18 Greylocke

Greylocke

    Squaddie

  • Forum Members
  • PipPip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 June 2005 - 06:15 AM

I would perform sexual favours for anyone who could make those weapons usable! And hand to hand would be a blast!

#19 CopyBass

CopyBass

    Captain

  • Forum Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 170 posts

Posted 16 June 2005 - 07:32 AM

I would perform sexual favours for anyone who could make those weapons usable! And hand to hand would be a blast!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


OMFG

... Sound's good, though. Loved your first editor ^_^
Posted ImagePosted Image

#20 Jenny

Jenny

    Artwork Department

  • Xenocide Artwork Department
  • 428 posts

Posted 07 February 2006 - 06:12 AM

Anyone know whether or not it's possible to edit newly recruited soldier's stats? Since it's usually in a set range I was wondering if you could change that. Might be interesting to play with.

Also, if not editable, does anyone know what these ranges are exactly? I noticed TUs tend to range from 50-60ish.

[edit] Just for clarification, I am not trying to edit an existing soldier's stats. I want to change the RANGE of stats that are assigned to new soldiers when you recruit them (I'd assume it's in the EXE somewhere).

Edited by Jenny, 07 February 2006 - 06:23 AM.

Posted Image

#21 Zombie

Zombie

    Colonel

  • Xenocide Creative-Text Departmen
  • 2,947 posts

Posted 09 February 2006 - 11:47 AM

Here are the ranges for starting soldier abilities, Jen:

STATISTIC      MIN   MAX   RANGE
Time Units      50    60     11
Stamina         40    70     31
Health          25    40     16
Bravery         10    60      6
Reactions       30    60     31
Firing Acc.     40    70     31
Throw Acc.      50    80     31
Strength        20    40     21
Psi Str.         0   100    101
Psi Skill       16    24      9
If you want to see the statistical analysis info, look here. WARNING: lots of boring numbers. :wink1:

Where these starting abilities are stored in the executable is unknown at the moment. If I get some time I'll dig around in there a bit. :)

- Zombie
The Mr. Grognard of X-COM

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!


#22 stewart

stewart

    Programming Department

  • [Xenocide Senior Members]
  • 10,527 posts

Posted 28 February 2006 - 09:29 PM

Anyone know whether or not it's possible to edit newly recruited soldier's stats? Since it's usually in a set range I was wondering if you could change that. Might be interesting to play with.

Also, if not editable, does anyone know what these ranges are exactly? I noticed TUs tend to range from 50-60ish.

[edit] Just for clarification, I am not trying to edit an existing soldier's stats. I want to change the RANGE of stats that are assigned to new soldiers when you recruit them (I'd assume it's in the EXE somewhere).

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Get yourself a disassembler and have a field day my dear; I suspect you are right that it's in the exe?

Wait there's a command in DOS called Debug I think that may let you edit the executable.

Make a copy first or you might be one unhappy allbeit tall girl.
Posted Image
I'm starting to like the heavy cannon more and more.

#23 Zombie

Zombie

    Colonel

  • Xenocide Creative-Text Departmen
  • 2,947 posts

Posted 28 February 2006 - 10:10 PM

I use MS-Edit instead of DOS for editing. While it's not too good at displaying values, it gets the job done. Just type "edit" at a DOS prompt and away you go. ;)

I had a chance to look for starting soldier attributes in the exe, but it is just so large that it is tough to find exactly where they are located. It's definitely not in the first 1/3 of it, that's for sure. :blush1:

- Zombie
The Mr. Grognard of X-COM

Zombie: Empirical data's your only man, when formulating a research plan.
A soldier's death is never in vain if it makes the formula more plain.
A few dozen make a better case for refining that third decimal place.
They call me Zombie because I don't sleep, as I slowly struggle to climb this heap,
of corpses, data points, and trials, but from the top - I'll see for miles!


#24 NKF

NKF

    Commander

  • [Global Moderators]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,795 posts

Posted 01 March 2006 - 02:10 AM

Zombie, here's what I do.

First of all, remember that the first bit of the executable is the executable stub. Contains all the basic bits and pieces that none of us are really interested in, but it's there. You can ignore all that.

Next, convert the number you want to find in little endian format. You can use MS Calculator (or any old scientific calculator with base-N modes). Enter the number you want in decimal, switch to hexadecimal mode, write each pair of values in reverse (add an extra 0 in front if you have an uneven amount of numbers/characters). This converts your number into little endian format. For example, if I were looking for 1254, this gives me 4E6. In little endian, it'll be e604. Next, enter each pair of the hexadecimal numbers into the calculator in hex mode, switch to decimal and take note of its value.

Back in MS-Edit, go to search>find then enter the sequence of numbers via the usual alt+numeric keypad method. OR, if you've found an identical value in the code, highlight it, then go to search>find and unless there are spaces in the selection, you should get an exact copy of what you're looking for in the text to find field. Now just search away. Use F3 to repeat the search over and over.

The best way to figure out what's what is to have a look at the adjacent values to see if you recognise any of it.

It's surprising, but you can actually find quite a lot of items this way.

Try to open the executable in an easy to work with width. Say 100. That way you can get your exact location in the file by row * 100 + column.

- NKF

Edited by NKF, 01 March 2006 - 02:11 AM.

Lord High Generalissimo Ruler Supreme of Norm's Anti Pedant Society (NAPS).

Number of members: 1

#25 Jenny

Jenny

    Artwork Department

  • Xenocide Artwork Department
  • 428 posts

Posted 01 March 2006 - 04:29 PM

Thanks for the info, guys. I'll see what I can find out with some simple hex browsing!
Posted Image